VCARS basketball paints interesting political picture

Vcars Basketball LeagueUsed car website and title sponsor of the England Basketball Leagues have unearthed an interesting social and political dimension to the latter stages of the Basketball Season.

VCARS have identified that of the 32 VCARS Play-Offs teams competing during April, 18 are from Labour constituencies, 11 are from Conservative and three are from Liberal Democrat.


The Race for the Playoffs

In the VCARS Play-Off Semi-Finals, there were eight teams each from the two main parties. In the VCARS finals, the current total is Labour 5 Conservative 1. Each party can claim one winner: Plymouth Marjon (Alison Seabeck – Labour) have taken the VCARS Division Three Play-Off title and Bracknell Cobras (Dr. Phillip Lee – Conservative) earned VCARS Division Four Play-Off honours. So far in the Play-Offs, there have been 12 head-to-head games between Conservative and Labour constituencies with the score currently tied at 6-6.

VCARS Spokesperson Paul Reaney noted:

It is fascinating to see how closely matched Conservative and Labour constituencies are both during the regular season and in the play-offs. The VCARS Basketball League truly is a property that touches every community across England and Wales. Ultimate bragging rights are still very much up for grabs. With just one weekend left in the season, and VCARS Division One and Division Two Play-Off Titles up for grabs, it’s difficult to predict whether the final play-off picture will be blue or red come Sunday April 28th.

The VCARS Basketball League Play-Offs

VCARS Division One Play-Offs Semi Final and Final games take place on Saturday April 27th and 28th at Manchester’s Amaechi Centre. On Saturday 27th, Reading Rockets (Rob Wilson MP – C) will face Essex Leopards (Eric Pickles MP – C). In the other Semi-Final, Worthing Thunder (Sir Peter Bottomley MP – C) will take on Team Northumbria (Nick Brown MP – L).

VCARS Division Two Play-Off Champions will definitely emerge from a Labour constituency as NASSA Neptunes (Stephen Timms MP) take on Manchester Magic (Sir Gerald Kaufman MP) on Sunday morning. The VCARS Division Three Play-Offs picture is complete. Labour dominated as Plymouth Marjon beat Canary Wharf Lithuania (Margaret Hodge MP). In VCARS Division Four, Bracknell Cobras (Dr. Phillip Lee MP – C) beat Tees Valley Mohawks (Andy Macdonald MP – L).

The VCARS Basketball League Regular Season

During the Regular Season, it is the Conservatives who took bragging rights. Five of the eight Divisional Champions were from Tory constituencies: VCARS Division One Reading Rockets; Three North Huddersfield Heat (Craig Whittaker MP); Three South Worcester Wolves (Robin Walker MP); Four South West Bracknell Cobras (Dr. Phillip Lee MP) and Four South East Northants Thunder (Michael Ellis MP). Labour can celebrate Division Two success for NASSA Neptunes, Four North for Tees Valley Mohawks II and Four South for Barking Abbey.



About Author