Top talent on the track

Getting under the skin of the Honda Yuasa BTCC team

The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship is the UK’s biggest motorsport series – an exciting,
high-contact sport that sees top drivers battle it out wheel-to-wheel throughout a 10-circuit, 30-race season.

The AA is thrilled to be sponsoring the Honda Yuasa Racing team for the 2013 season – as drivers Matt Neal and Gordon ‘Flash’ Shedden, eager to replicate their success of 2011 and 2012, take to the track in pursuit of championship glory.

We’ll be following Matt and Gordon throughout every nail-biting twist and turn of the season – find out how the team checks out below.

The drivers

Matt and Gordon are no race rookies – between them, the dynamic duo have won four Drivers’ Championships, as well as contributing to the team title in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Gordon Shedden

Gordon 'Flash' Shedden

Driver number: 1
BTCC debut: Knockhill, 22 July 2001 (Ford Focus)
BTCC titles: 2012 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Drivers' and Independent Drivers' championships
Racing hero: Valentino Rossi
Favourite circuit: Knockhill and Macau
If I weren't a racing driver, I'd like to have been: A fighter pilot
Greatest achievement: Winning the 2012 BTCC Drivers' championship

Matt Neal

 Matt Neal

Driver number: 2
BTCC debut: Silverstone, 14 July 1991 (BMW M3)
BTCC titles: 2005, 2006 and 2011 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Drivers' and Independent Drivers' championships; 1993, 1995, 1999 and 2000 BTCC Independent Drivers’ championship
Racing hero: Nigel Mansell
Favourite circuit: Nurburgring and Bathurst
If I weren't a racing driver, I'd like to have been: A professional rugby player
Greatest achievement: Being a BTCC champion – and a dad!

The cars

This season, the Honda Yuasa Racing Civic sports new-look livery, and enhanced engine and suspension performance.

Honda Yuasa Racing car

  • Model: Honda Civic Type R (K20)
  • Engine: 16-valve, four-cylinder
  • Top speed: 160mph
  • Power: 300+ bhp
  • Gearbox: Xtrac 1046 six-speed sequential
  • Tyres: Dunlop 18x10 inches
  • Fuel tank: ATL 80-litre Kevlar cell

The performance

Check out the highlights from last year's Brands Hatch GP BTCC 2012 season finale – as Honda Yuasa scooped a hat trick of championship titles:

The final results

At the end of the 2013 season, Honda drivers Gordon and Matt secured a great final result of second and fourth place in the championship – with the Honda Yuasa team winning both the teams’ and manufacturers’ crowns for the fourth consecutive year:

Driver 1 – Gordon Shedden: Second place, with 390 points
Driver 2 – Matt Neal: Fourth place, with 356 points
Team – Honda Yuasa Racing: First place, with 721 points

(15 October 2013)