Taking to the Racetrack

AA Launches Caterham Roadsports Challenge Team

Steve Ives (left) and Scott Illman The AA is taking to the racetrack this summer as it launches its first Caterham Roadsport Challenge team.

The AA's Caterham Roadsport Challenge cars will be driven by Steve Ives, the AA's manager of Road Operations Public Sector Development and Scott Illman, an AA patrol from Southampton. As with all drivers in the Caterham Roadsport Challenge, both Steve and Scott are novice racing drivers.

"This is a great way to get into motorsport. The Caterham Roadsport series, is specifically designed as an introduction to motor racing - Caterham supply all the support you need without having to have a team of technical specialists in tow" said Steve Ives.

"Both Scott and I are so looking forward to getting behind the wheel of the Caterham cars. I, myself, have some experience racing motorbikes but it will be the first time competitively on the track in cars for both of us."

With eleven events at seven of the UK's top motor circuits the Caterham Roadsport Challenge will see the AA Caterham team's yellow cars racing round the likes of Brands Hatch, Donnington and Silverstone.

Driver Profiles

Steve Ives
Steve, 52, has been with the AA for 35 years, from apprentice mechanic to Manager Road Operations - Public Sector Development. He has been racing motor bike and scooters since 1974 winning 4 national class championships and 3 overall national championships

Scott Illman
Scott, 37, has been with the AA for 10 years. He is a TSP (Technical Specialist Patrol) and is a former Patrol of the Year. He is a former GP Technician for Yamaha and ex-Motocross rider. Scott lives in Hedge End, Southampton and is married with three children.

Caterham Roadsport Challenge Events

Croft (26/27 April)
Castle Combe (26 May)
Cadwell Park (22 June)
Oulton Park (12 July)
Silverstone (9/10 August)
Donnington (30/31 August)
Brands Hatch (17/18 October)

More pictures of the Team and Cars »

2008 Race results - Caterham Roadsports Challenge and AA Historic racing teams »


22 April 2008