Coney Street, YORK, YO1 9QN
The present Hall dates from 1446 but in 1942 an air raid virtually destroyed the building. The present Mansion House was carefully restored as an exact replica and was re-opened in 1960. The fascinating arch-braced roof is decorated with colourful bosses and supported by 12 solid oak pillars. Explore the secret drawers in the Bureau, and search for the chamber pot! There are also some beautiful stained-glass windows. During the the year there are a number of events including the Lord Mayor's Easter Egg Hunt. Check the website for details.
Tel: 01904 613161
Send an email
Please see website
The Mansion House is currently closed for a major restoration project, funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund. It is scheduled to re-open in early 2017. Open Feb-Xmas, Thu-Sat for tours at 11, 12.30 & 2
Average visit 1.5hrs
5-10mins walk from rail station