Skip to content

Print this page Back to results

The George of Stamford

71 St Martins, STAMFORD, PE9 2LB

One of England's most renowned old coaching inns, it shares a stunning streetscape of imposing silver-limestone houses and villas tumbling down to the River Welland. Many period films and TV programmes have been filmed here. The George, with its extraordinary gallows sign (erected as a welcome to some and a warning to others), was built in 1597 to extend an earlier inn, elements of which survive in the crypt and walled garden. In the York Bar northbound coach passengers waited while horses were changed; the London Room fulfilled the same purpose for those heading south. The York Bar menu offers sandwiches, ploughman's, toasties and light dishes such as minestrone soup; and smoked Scottish salmon with capers. In the slightly more formal Garden Room expect the likes of 'a taste of Asian chicken' (Thai green curry, deep-fried tempura, peanut satay and aromatic basmati rice); steak and kidney pudding; beetroot risotto; or push the boat out and opt for the Grand Brittany platter ­comprising half lobster, crab, oyster, king prawn, mussels, clams, shell-on prawns and whelks. Local beers from The Grainstore and a considerable choice of 24 wines by the glass may accompany.

Further information

Tel: 01780 750750
Please quote 'The AA'.
Send an email

View the website

Principal beers

Adnams Broadside, The Grainstore, Bass, guest ales


All day all week
11-11 (Sun 12-11)


Children welcome.
Bedrooms available.

The George of Stamford, Stamford


View larger map
Javascript is required to view this map


Use the route planner for your trip

From Peterborough take A1 N. Onto B1081 for Stamford, down hill to lights. Hotel on left

Local information for PE9 2LB

Find the following on: