Euro NCAP crash tests

New car crash tests and car safety ratings

EuroNCAP's new ratings cover adult and child occupant, pedestrian and 'safety assist'

The AA was a founder member of the European New Car Assessment Programme (Euro NCAP) launched in 1997. Since then Euro NCAP has tested and rated more than 300 new car models.

Test results and safety ratings are published in groups, based on size/weight categories.

New ratings

From February 2009 Euro NCAP has introduced a new overall safety rating with a maximum award of five stars.

This new rating is made up from scores in four areas of assessment: adult occupant, child occupant, pedestrian protection and a new area, 'safety assist'.

Search crash test results by category


Or search crash test results by make and model