This appealing pub was built in 1589 as the bailiff’s lodge for the Goodnestone estate and gardens, to which it still belongs. Known as ‘the Fitz’ to locals, it welcomes many muddy boots and dogs as people discover this and other beautiful buildings in the village or finish a long walk. Log fires, wooden floors, exposed brick walls and beams adorned with Kentish hops characterise the interior; Shepherd Neame ales are ideally conditioned by chalk cellars. Home-cooked pub fare includes Jeanette’s family recipe for a spicy Welsh rarebit. Alternatively go for the comfort of a cottage pie with seasonal vegetables, or scampi and chips.