3 East Street, RYE, TN31 7JY
Explore the story of Rye's long and illustrious history. Part of the museum is housed in a stone tower built as a fortification in 1249. The museum's collection of ironwork, medieval pots and smuggling items are on display here, while the East Street site contains the rest of the collection, including pottery, fashions, an 18th-century fire engine, toys, cinque port regalia, a special exhibition on the town between the wars, descriptions of the changes to the harbour and shipbuilding here and businesses and leisure in Rye during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Tel: 01797 226728
Send an email
Ypres Tower £3 (ch free, concessions £2.50). East St free
Ypres Tower open daily Apr-Oct, 10.30-5, Nov-Mar 10.30-3.30. East St open Apr-Oct wknds only, 10.30-5 (last entry 30 mins before close)
Average visit 45mins each site
Dogs allowed all areas.
Ramp to ground floor of Ypres Tower, East St fully accessible
In town centre, on A259. Museum is on 2 sites, East St & Ypres Tower